Tiedje Symposium Wrap Up

Pictures from the recent Tiedje Symposium are up on Flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/69569599@N06/) if you missed it or want to go through the memories again.

A couple of my favorites (and judging by the view count, other people’s favorites too):

http://www.flickr.com/photos/69569599@N06/6337472898/in/photostream/

Tiedje in front of his slide, “What my mentor taught me”. I was too busy enjoying the talk that I didn’t get a chance to write them all down. Here they are:

6. Write well, often; use proper antecedents and lots of red pens
5. Recalcitrant molecules: words are important
4. Don’t redo your thesis
3. Serve the world, educate international students
2. The most important research address real (practical) problems
1. The most important activity of a professor is to mentor students

Someone else made a similar list and I made some notes, but I’ve misplaced my notebook at the moment, so I’ll post those later.

My other favorite was this, http://www.flickr.com/photos/69569599@N06/6336904167/in/photostream

Rich Lenski, double fisting wine 🙂

The other popular feature at the event was the phylogenetic tree of Tiedje’s mentors and his mentees (not to be confused with manatees) – I hope to make one of these for my background soon 🙂

Were you there? What were your favorite moments?

Cheers and I hope the links work!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

