Knowledge of Ignorance

There’s what you know,

What you don’t know,

And what you don’t know that you don’t know. 

I have been thinking about knowledge and ignorance lately thanks to  this new book, “Ignorance: How it Drives Science” by Stuart Firestein. I can’t wait to read it! But here are two great articles about it until we get our hands on it.

I was writing up some plans for my summer research, and I got to the end of it, and I thought, “This is awesome. I don’t know how to do, like, 90% of what I just wrote.” And I’ve had this feeling before, and it is really awesome. Like, non-sarcastic, awesome.

At that point, you’re teetering on the edge of what you know and what you don’t know, and you’re about to dive in. It’s a little scary, but very exciting, never-the-less.

I had the pleasure of sharing these feelings and experiences with one of my mentors tonight. He told me about when he started one of the bigger projects in the lab, he really didn’t know a lot about what they were getting into and having the same sort of feeling. And assured me that while it gets more comfortable to take those dives, the excitement is still there.

thank goodness. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Grad School, Personal

Leave a Reply

