Our STEM education system

This post is inspired from Sally Ride’s op-ed on inspired teachers being the key to great science education.

 

I don’t have one specific science teacher that inspired me to love and pursue science. In some aspects, I think that love was just innate. However, I did have one teacher in High School (shout out to Mr. Skinner) who introduced me to ecology and environmental science, and it was the first time I can remember thinking, “This is the stuff I love AND I could have a career doing this?!” That was the first time I thought of science as a career.

Luckily though, I was never told that I couldn’t do science or math because I was a girl. I don’t think I ever felt like I couldn’t do anything (or everything). I know that was a privilege of growing up in an educated, white, middle class household, but maybe that can help me to understand and advise schools/teachers to encourage students to pursue STEM careers – especially ladies and minorities.

Just keep in mind, little ones, futuristic jobs are going to need STEM skillz.

Leave a comment

Filed under Education, Science

Leave a Reply

